Mozart Workshop February 2018

Mozart Workshop

Friendship and inspiring musical leadership at our annual workshop

‘Professional leadership and good company’, ‘inspiring musical direction’, ‘very good tuition’, ‘honing singing skills with like-minded people’, ‘marvellous intensity of the singing’, ‘great camaraderie’, ‘wonderful atmosphere’, ‘warm welcome’ – just some of the appreciative comments summing up our Mozart Requiem Workshop on 17 February 2018, led by our new musical director Howard Ionascu, with Peter Adcock at the piano.

Read more: Mozart Workshop February 2018

Carols in the Cathedral 12 & 13 December 2017

Carols 2107I don’t know how I’ve lived in or near Exeter for forty years and not been to one of these events before. They are now a fixture in the musical diary of the city and county, and rightly so. The choir, joined by the Devon County Junior Choir and Exeter Brass and accompanied by Stephen Tanner at the organ, treated the almost-capacity audience in Exeter Cathedral to a splendid evening of festive music, under their new conductor, Howard Ionascu.

Read more: Carols in the Cathedral 12 & 13 December 2017

The Glorious Baroque 11 November 2017

Baroque InsetBaroque splendour welcomes a new conductor

A warm welcome to Howard Ionascu, who has recently taken up the reins as conductor of the Exeter Philharmonic Choir and who directed them for the first time at a concert on Saturday 11 November at Exeter’s Mint Methodist Church.

Read more: The Glorious Baroque 11 November 2017

Elgar The Dream of Gerontius 20 May 2017

Dream of Gerontius thumbnailRegarded by many as Edward Elgar’s finest work, The Dream of Gerontius sets the text of John Henry Newman’s poem that first appeared in 1865. Conversion to Roman Catholicism featured in both men’s lives:

Read more: Elgar The Dream of Gerontius 20 May 2017

Verdi Requiem 18 March 2017

Verdi ThumbnailWhat a great sing is Verdi's ever-popular Requiem for a choral society!  And what a great listening experience it is for an audience when it hears such a fine performance as that given by the Exeter Philharmonic Choir at a concert in Exeter Cathedral on 18 March. 

Read more: Verdi Requiem 18 March 2017

Workshop on Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius –

Gerontius thumbnail‘a brilliant day of singing’

‘Friendly atmosphere, people’s willingness to help and last, but not least, the musical experience’


Carol Concert 14 & 15 December 2016

Carols inset 16

Seeing the red bow-ties and sparkling scarves of the choir, a flower in Andrew Millington’s buttonhole and the gleaming instruments of Exeter Brass, we anticipated a festive evening and were not disappointed.

Read more: Carol Concert 14 & 15 December 2016

Benedicite Concert 14 May 2016

Benedicite ReviewOn Saturday 14 May I needed an artistic and encouraging tonic. Thank you, EPC and Devon County Junior Choir, for producing it in a concert of music of different styles presented to a capacity audience.

Read more: Benedicite Concert 14 May 2016

Sea Symphony

Wind and Spray

Review of the Vaughan Williams concert, March 2016

Performances of Vaughan Williams’s music continue to come to our attention from all around the world.

Read more: Sea Symphony

Carol Concert 9 & 10 December 2015

Carols image...Oh dear, not another Christmas concert – my fifth in a week! However, I am so pleased that I didn’t miss this one. It was excellent –

A carol concert with a difference.

Read more: Carol Concert 9 & 10 December 2015

You are here: Home Reviews